Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Secondary Navigation

Main page Content


Curriculum Implementation
At Hendra Park State School, we plan, teach, assess and report on the:
Australian Curriculum Prep to Year 6    
·    English
·    Mathematics
·    Science
·    HASS
·    Technologies
·    The Arts
·    Health and Physical Education
·    Languages
Within all subject areas, there is a focus on developing seven general capabilities of students. The seven General Capabilities are
  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Information and communication (ICT) competence
  • Creative and critical thinking
  • Ethical behaviour
  • Personal and social competence, and
  • Intercultural understanding.
There are also the cross-curriculum priorities of
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures
  • Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia, and
  • Sustainability
The Australian Curriculum
The Australian Curriculum describes what young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. It is the foundation for their future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community. It sets out essential knowledge, understanding, skills and capabilities and provides a national standard for student achievement in core learning areas.

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) has a rigorous and robust curriculum development process to produce a high-quality national curriculum. ACARA draws on the best national talent and expertise to draft the curriculum and considers thousands of opinions from teachers, academics and parents to business, industry and community groups – to make improvements along the way.

The council of federal, state and territory education ministers are responsible for endorsing the Australian Curriculum. State and territory education authorities are responsible for implementation of the Australian Curriculum and for supporting schools and teachers.